Vegetable Lo Mein

Vegetable Lo Mein

Hey guys! Yeah so this post is late. Usually I schedule my posts to be posted at 6 am, nope didn’t happen. I got home at 9 last night, took a shower and ate and went to bed. My 8-year-old had a baseball game, last one for the season last night. So drove a good 40 minutes there and back and with the heat the way it has been the last few days I didn’t get to posting. I’m sorry will you ever forgive me? At least its better late than never!

So my aunt is legit Japanese. My uncle was stationed over in Japan when he was in the military way back in the day and he met her, fell in love, had her move to the US and then married. They have been together ever since. She makes amazing Japanese food. It has seriously been an honor learning to cook some dishes from her. Sadly they have since moved to Arkansas and I am here, all alone without my authentic Japanese food!

Now this may not be authentic, or Japanese, but this reminds me of her. My husband and I love to go get Chinese/Japanese/Hunan takeout. And Lo Mein is by far something that we always have to have on our plate. But when those days that you’re just so busy, don’t want to spend the money, and don’t want to drive 20 miles to go get said food, it’s always great to have your own recipe on hand to satisfy that craving! This is chalked full of veggies, now you can add chicken, beef, pork or shrimp as well. Myself, I love to just stay with the veggie version and make some sort of chicken or beef to go along side it so I can have more food. Ha, you see how that works! Eating a veggie in this makes you get more! Loving it!

Now usually I’ve seen Lo Mein with regular spaghetti noodles, but I love Mei Fun as well and they use the thinner noodles so I love to make this with Angel Hair. It seems to make a bigger batch to, so that’s another plus. So if your Chinese/Japanese bone starts itching in your body, make yourself a batch of this and see how it compares!

Ingredients:

1 (16 oz) pkg angel hair pasta
1/2 – 1 (16 oz) pkg stir fry vegetables
3 tsp sesame oil
1 cup soy sauce
6 Tbs sugar

Directions:

Cook pasta according to package directions, set aside. In wok or large pan cook your vegetables until thawed and warmed through. In bowl combine your sesame oil soy sauce and sugar (add more sugar if you like your sauce sweeter. I like to add more I like a little sweeter taste. Taste sauce and go from there :)). Turn heat to low and add your pasta to your vegetables and pour your sauce over the top. Toss to coat and heat through.

To see where I’m linked at visit my Link Parties page and join the fun!

13 thoughts on “Vegetable Lo Mein

  1. We would just love your Vegetable Lo Mein, it looks so good. I appreciate you sharing this awesome post with Full Plate Thursday and have a great day.
    Come Back Soon!
    Miz Helen

    Like

  2. Pingback: SIMPLE SUPPER TUESDAY LINKY PARTY #71 | Moore or Less Cooking Food Blog

  3. Pingback: Simple Supper Tuesday #121 | Recipe Blogs, Recipes

Leave a comment