Chocolate Caramel Pretzel Bars

Chocolate Caramel Pretzel Bar

Do you guys remember high school well? I’ve been reminiscing for the past few days about my high school years. That may be because I have my 10 year high school reunion this weekend. Oh my. Time has gone by so fast. In those last 10 year I’ve managed to get married, have 4 children and buy our first home. Might not sound like much but it feels like a lot. 

Our lives are pretty quiet, I think back and see what some of my classmates have done with their lives and am so happy at what they have all be able to accomplish. Some I have stayed in contact with, some I haven’t seen or spoken to since high school. But I can say that I am excited and a little nervous to see them all again. Of course this girl is tasked with bringing the desserts! Obviously! I’m a sugar addict.

Can you believe that me being a dessert/baking addict is a new development? I honestly hated baking up until a few years ago. I was a seriously cook, but you couldn’t get me to bake to save my life. I think it played in part to that if you screw up a recipe while baking, its hard to save. While if you screw up a recipe while cooking it seems like there is an easy flavor fix. Who knows, but all I know is that I’m addicted to baking and sweets now.

I seen these bad boys over at Kraft and I knew from the moment I laid eyes on them that they were going to be in my stomach soon. Caramel, pretzels, sugar cookies and chocolate. This has all the components of a good time in one bite. Has the perfect balance of chewy and crunchy all in one. These are going to keep being on my dessert rotation that is for sure.

Recipe Source: Kraft

Ingredients:

1 (16.5 oz) pkg refrigerated sugar cookie dough
1 (11 oz) pkg caramel bits
1/2 cup whipping cream, divided
1 – 1 1/2 cups broken pretzels, rods or twists will work
1 (4 oz) pgk Semi-sweet baking chocolate bar, broken into pieces

Directions:

Pre-heat oven to 375. Line an 8″x8″ baking pan with tin foil and spray with cooking spray. Unwrap your cookie dough and cut into thick pieces. Place pieces on bottom and up the side of your baking pan. Poke several times with fork to prevent inflation (will deflate after removed from oven, also press down with spatula if it seems inflated) and bake for about 15 minutes or until golden. In bowl melt together your caramels and 1/4 cup cream until smooth. Stir in your pretzels and spread over cookie crust. In another bowl melt together your chocolate pieces with remaining 1/4 cup cream. Spread over top of caramel layer. Cover and refrigerate for a few hours until firm, cut and serve!

If you wanna see where I’m linked at visit my Link Parties page and join the fun!

13 thoughts on “Chocolate Caramel Pretzel Bars

  1. My sweet tooth is out of control tonight. I am glad I don’t have a pan of these in front of me, they wouldn’t make it through the night! My 15 year reunion is this year, I haven’t been able to make it to the others. I hope I can make it to this one!

    Like

  2. These look seriously YUMMY! I am always looking for recipes to satisfy my sweet tooth – this certainly looks like it would be a great one to try. Thanks so much for sharing! 🙂 Visiting from The Mommy Monday Blog Hop.

    Like

  3. Pingback: SIMPLE SUPPER TUESDAY LINKY PARTY #72 | Moore or Less Cooking Food Blog

Leave a comment