Strawberry Fritter Bites

Strawberry Fritter Bites

Good morning everyone! I hope you all had a wonderful weekend! Not a lot accomplished around here. Kids went to the lake and a baseball game, I read a book, cleaned the house and just generally tried to relax. I’ve noticed these days I’m more or less wanting to relax when I have free time than to go go go like I used to. Don’t get me wrong, I love going and exploring but sometimes I need to appreciate the slow parts of life.

My 10-year-old and I absolutely love apple fritters! That is his first choice when he goes to the bakery. I love them with bacon, obviously. Low and behold I was fresh out of apples. Darn it anyways! But I did have a lot of strawberries that needed to be used up, so I thought an improvision was in the works! These turned out awesome! My husband even swooned when he ate them! I don’t get much of that because he is not a sweets person so it made this old girl feel so good!

These would probably be amazing with any type of chopped up fruits, so go ahead and switch it up to your liking! Blueberries sound amazing to me, and that might just have to be my next fritter adventure! These made a small batch, I got about 12 1-2″ sized bites.

Ingredients:

1 1/4 cup flour
1/3 cup sugar
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp salt
1/3 cup milk
1 egg
1 Tbs melted butter
1/2 tsp vanilla
1 cup chopped strawberries
1 cup powdered sugar
2-3 Tbs milk
Oil for frying

Directions:

Heat oil to 375. In bowl mix together flour, sugar, baking powder, cinnamon and salt, set aside. In another bowl whisk together your milk, egg, butter and vanilla. Slowly mix your wet ingredients into your dry, stirring until everything is just combined. Fold in your strawberries. Drop by tablespoonfuls into hot oil and fry until each side is golden, about 1 minute. Remove from oil and let drain on paper towel lined plate. Repeat until all remaining batter is gone. When cooled, mix together your powdered sugar and milk, dip each fritter in icing and let set up. Serve and enjoy!

To see where I’m linked at visit my Link Parties page and join the fun!

3 thoughts on “Strawberry Fritter Bites

  1. These look wonderful. We’re big strawberry fans, so I’m sure these would be a big hit. Thanks for sharing at Funtastic Friday:-) Please join us again for this week’s party.

    Like

Leave a Reply

