Arancini

Arancini aka Rice Balls

Yay I’m back! Who missed me? I’m sure you all did, I missed myself that’s for sure. Ugh, I mentioned in my last post that I thought that I had clenched my jaw and it caused pain. Nope, pain never ended and apparently I had a bad tooth. Needless to say, it was a hellacious last few days. Finally this lady is back in order! My cheek has started to reduce in swelling and I am relatively pain-free. All I know is that I’m so happy that I feel like this compared to what I did. 

I’m sure we all have those days where we just feel so blah and we don’t feel like cooking anything. Yeah that was me. I didn’t have the energy to really do anything. But last night I couldn’t help myself. I was feeling so much better and I was literally craving these! Have you guy’s ever had Arancini or aka cheese filled balls of heaven? If not, race to your kitchen right now and get to making these!!

These nuggets of joy can be adapted to whatever cheese you’re in the mood for. Usually it has mozzarella cheese in the middle but unfortunately I didn’t have any! I did however have a nice big block of provolone and that worked out quite well for me! Then you wrap cheesy rice around it, bread it, fry it and dip it. OMG mouth-watering. Sorry, I’m getting a little ahead of myself. This is just one of those recipes that I could always have on my go to list. It takes very few ingredients and is pretty quick to whip up! If you’re looking for a new addition to Italian night at home, give these a try!

Serving Size- 8-10 balls

Ingredients:

2-3 cups cooked white rice
3/4 cup Parmesan cheese
Salt and pepper
5 eggs
10 cubes mozzarella cheese (or cheese of your choice)
1 cup Italian bread crumbs
Oil for frying
Marinara sauce for dipping

Directions:

Heat oil to 375. In bowl, mix together your rice, parmesan, 2 eggs, salt and pepper. Form portions of rice around cubes of cheese creating a ball shape, squeeze tightly to make sure they hold together, repeat until all rice and cheese are used. If you have rice leftover that’s ok. In small bowl whisk together your remaining eggs. In separate small bowl place your bread crumbs. Dip arancini in egg and then breadcrumbs until covered. Repeat for each remaining ball. Place 2-3 balls in oil until golden and heated through. Repeat until all are done. Serve with marinara sauce and enjoy!

To see where I’m linked a visit my Link Parties page and join the fun!

Leave a Reply

