Butter Nut Cake

Butter Nut Cake

So I seriously struggled on naming this dish. Do you ever get those days? Yeah, I had no idea so this is the best I could come up with. So take it our leave it! But seriously, you’ll wanna take it. This cake! THIS CAKE! I loved this cake so much. The whole thing asked to be in my belly. Unfortunately me and that area aren’t getting along right now, so it had to settle for a few slices here and there with the rest almost taken from me. 

I love when I get the chance to experiment. Some of the flavor combinations that you can come up with are so fun. Especially when the ones you least expect to work turn out working perfectly together. This has a mixture of coconut, pecan and almond. They meshed really well. And that buttercream frosting is awesome. Buttercream is my go to frosting when I want to make my own instead of canned. Which I did here because I found out that I bought 2 things of chocolate frosting instead of one chocolate and one white. Whoops. A girls gotta admit, she loves her chocolate.

This cake is very dainty, its fragile. I consider it a poke cake because you pour can of sweetened condensed milk over it. So it makes it very moist, but very very flavorful. So be careful when serving the slices, moist cake takes a little more finesse when serving I’ve found out!

Ingredients:

Cake:
1 box butter pecan cake mix (and ingredients listed on box)
2 cups coconut, divided
1 (14 oz) can sweetened condensed milk

Buttercream:
3 cups powdered sugar
2 sticks butter, softened
1/4 tsp salt
2 tsp almond extract
1-2 Tbs cream or milk

Directions:

Mix cake mix according to package directions, adding 1 cup of the coconut to the batter. Bake according to package directions. Once done, poke holes all over cake with fork and pour your can of sweetened condensed milk over the top. Spread the condensed milk around with spatula making sure it goes into the holes. Set aside to cool completely.

Meanwhile in bowl mix together your butter and powdered sugar until well blended (about 3-4 minutes). Add your salt, vanilla and cream (1 Tbs at a time) until combined. Fold in remaining coconut. Spread on cooled cake and sprinkle with additional coconut if desired. Serve!

To see where I’m linked at visit my Link Parties page and join the fun!

10 thoughts on “Butter Nut Cake

  1. This post made me go to my pantry and get the coconut pecan frosting and start eating it. LOL Thank you for sharing this on the #HomeMattersParty and I hope you will come back and share again.

    Like

Leave a Reply

