Southern Style Green Beans

Southern Style Green Beans

Friday! Gateway to the weekend! So excited. I would be more excited if I actually got to sleep in tomorrow but alas, I cannot. Like mentioned before we are having our garage sale tomorrow. I think I’m prepared, maybe. Hopefully it is a success. I’m kind of just winging it. Got myself a little help here and there from Pinterest. Plus my lovely mother is coming over tonight and Saturday to help me, much to her chagrin.

Through this whole process I have found out that my husband is a hoarder, I am not. I’m one of those types of people who don’t get emotionally attached to objects and I have no problem throwing things away. Although, I do have an over abundance of clothes. But to my defense I’ve been selling what I don’t wear on an online sale site called Vinted. I’ve actually made so pretty decent money off of it too! But I have also shopped a lot as well, luckily they offer you to be able to swap clothes with other users as well, so that always help!

The main issue I have been having with this sale is how to price items. I think I just want to move inventory and price lower so I can get it all out of my hair! I’m clutterphobic. Seriously you’d think I have OCD with how annoyed and anxious I get from just random messes. Hence why I vacuum, wash dishes and do general pick up duties like 10x a day. The husband says that the kids can so far as drop a toy and I’m following right behind picking it up. That’s ok right?

Anyways, if you’re in the mood for some old school comfort food, look no further than to this recipe. Who can’t say that grandma or mom never made these growing up? I know mine did, but they also put slivered almonds in theirs which I do not. For some reason, it is odd to me. Enjoy!

Ingredients:

2 lb fresh green beans, trimmed (you can snap in half or keep whole)
4 strips bacon, diced
2 cups chicken broth
4 Tbs brown sugar
Salt and pepper

Directions:

In large skillet, fry bacon until no longer pink. Add trimmed beans and heat in bacon for 3-4 minutes coating with the grease. Add the chicken broth and cover but leave lid cracked and simmer until tender. Once tender add the brown sugar and stir to coat. At this point you can drain off liquid if you wish, otherwise it is really good served with! Sprinkle with salt and pepper to desired taste and serve.

To see where I’m linked at visit my Link Parties page and join in the fun!

Leave a Reply

